scroll up button

Share on Social Media

Powered by
HistoryIT | We Give History A Future

Iota Nu

University of Kentucky

Apr 10th, 2010

Founding Date

In April 2009, the University of Kentucky Panhellenic Council invited Alpha Phi to become the 13th sorority on campus. Iota Nu’s establishment efforts began in August 2009 with participation in UK’s formal recruitment, followed by an establishment blitz. Potential new members were introduced to Alpha Phi by participating in the first round of formal recruitment. Collegiate members from Illinois (Beta Alpha), Indiana (Beta Tau), Butler (Epsilon Beta), Indiana U. Southeast (Zeta Epsilon), Miami University (Gamma Nu), Ohio State (Rho) and James Madison (Theta Iota) marketed Alpha Phi during this round. Following formal recruitment, the on-site team led a campus-wide introduction to Alpha Phi by participating in K-Week (orientation events) and establishment-specific marketing activities. In mid-September, a weekend of interviews kicked off a week of recruitment events held at the King Alumni House on campus. These events culminated with Preference and Bid Day on Sunday, September 20. Bid Day for the UK new chapter was a celebration for the community, as Panhellenic women were on hand to welcome the newest members of Alpha Phi to their extended family.


On April 10, 2010, Alpha Phi welcomed Iota Nu chapter at the University of Kentucky with more than 115 new members. The festive installation and banquet took place at the Griffin Gate Marriott in Lexington, Kentucky. More than 300 initiates, parents, alumnae and community members were present to commemorate the occasion. 


International President Laura Malley-Schmitt (Zeta Phi-MIT) presided over the ceremony. International Executive Board Director and Team Mentor Amy Jordan (Omicron-Missouri) and Executive Director Linda Wells Kahangi (Zeta Delta-Iowa State) also were present to help in the initiation. 


The Foundation presented the Lexington American Heart Association with a $1,000 community contribution check and honored the chapter’s scholarship chair with a scholarship badge.