scroll up button

Share on Social Media

Powered by
HistoryIT | We Give History A Future

Zeta Sigma

Franklin & Marshall College

Apr 25th, 1982

Founding Date

Franklin and Marshall College in Lancaster, Pennsylvania, welcomed Zeta Sigma chapter of Alpha Phi on April 25, 1982. In the spring of 1980, six women established the solid foundation of Zeta Sigma. With the active interest of college deans and the generous direction of advisers Liza Jane Bernard, Bessie Snyder Caruthers (Delta-Cornell), Carolyn Cochrane Kent (Beta Chi-Bucknell), and Diana Smith George (Delta Mu-Purdue), they determined ideals and objectives necessary to become a part of the organization. Alpha Phi granted their petition and the establishment process on May 6, 1981. Weekend festivities for the chapter installation began on Saturday, April 24, 1982. Alpha Phis from West Chester and Lehigh universities respectively performed the Court of Ivy and Initiation ceremonies. A reception in the Dana Room of the Steinman College Center followed the Initiation ceremony, and there parents, guests and friends were introduced to Mary Carr Boyd (Omicron-Missouri), International President, Nancy Wittgen Burks DeVoe (Gamma-DePauw), Vice President Extension, Mary Martell Mason (Beta Beta-Michigan State), District II Alumnae Chairman, Sharon Horton Rowe (Beta Iota-West Virginia), District II Governor, Karen McTigue Knisely (Zeta Sigma-Franklin & Marshall), chapter president, and Richard Triana, Academic Vice President of Franklin and Marshall. The highlight of the reception was the presentation of the charter by Mary Carr Boyd (Omicron-Missouri). At the banquet, Bessie Snyder Caruthers (Delta-Cornell), Installation Chairman, was presented with a fifty-year pin. It was truly special to all persons present as Mrs. Caruthers was a great inspiration to the new chapter.