scroll up button

Share on Social Media

Powered by
HistoryIT | We Give History A Future

Eta Pi

University of Richmond

Apr 15th, 1989

Founding Date

Alpha Phi installed its fifth Virginia chapter, Eta Pi, at the University of Richmond the weekend of April 14-15, 1989.


Coordinating installation festivities was Susan Molnar Lynn (Beta Omicron-Bowling Green). Collegians from the University of Virginia conducted the Court of Ivy ceremony on Friday evening. International Vice-President of Alumnae Mary Berkmoes Carroll (Delta Omega-Minnesota State Moorhead) greeted the members and spoke of the lifetime opportunities and responsibilities that go hand in hand with Alpha Phi membership. Initiated in the stately Cannon Memorial Chapel on campus were 112 collegians and 24 alumnae. A reception for collegians, parents, university officials, Panhellenic and fraternity representatives, and area alumnae followed at the Omni Richmond hotel.


Serving as mistress of ceremonies was District Alumnae Chairman Alice Molitor King (Pi-North Dakota). Presenting the charter was International President Sally McCall Grant (Gamma-DePauw). Also present was District II Governor Lynn Neese (Delta Alpha-East Carolina). Alison Bartel, Assistant Director of Student Activities, brought greetings from the university administration. Ms. Bartel coordinated the selection process and served as fraternity/university liaison. 


Richmond alumnae president Nancy Sechrist Russell (Beta Gamma-Colorado) presented the president’s Lazy Phi badge to chapter president Melissa Shein. Also sending installation gifts were alumnae chapters in Northern Virginia, the Virginia Peninsula, D.C.- Maryland, Charlotte, Raleigh, and Winston-Salem. 


On behalf of the Alpha Phi Foundation, Foundation Director Brenda Sanders Savage (Delta Alpha-East Carolina) presented a $1,000 check for heart projects to the Henrico Doctors Hospital and the sapphire scholarship badge to the chapter scholarship chairman, Stephanie Duncan. The new chapter began a tradition by presenting the Outstanding Senior Award to chapter president Alene Singewald and naming this annual award after her.