scroll up button

Share on Social Media

Powered by
HistoryIT | We Give History A Future

Eta Xi

University of North Carolina, Wilmington

Mar 18th, 1989

Founding Date

On March 18, 1989, 54 outstanding young women became the charter members of the Eta Xi chapter. Thirteen mothers were also initiated as alumnae.

International officers assisting with the Eta Xi installation and reception were: Nancy Wittgen Burks DeVoe (Gamma-DePauw), Trustee and former International President; Michelle Noland Trenum (Gamma Iota-Texas Tech), New Chapter Supervisor and District Governor; Renee Smith Zimmerman Zainer (Beta Epsilon-Arizona), Chapter Consultant, and Brenda Sanders Savage (Delta Alpha-East Carolina), Foundation Director. Members of Delta Alpha chapter at East Carolina University and Wilmington area alumnae assisted with the weekend festivities. Following the initiation ceremony, a reception was held at the Blockade Runner on Wrightsville Beach.

President Kirki Moore accepted the Eta Xi charter from Nancy Wittgen Burks DeVoe (Gamma-DePauw). Representing the University were Dean of Students Dr. Pat Leonard, and Vice President for Student Affairs Dr. William Brian. Both shared words of encouragement and delight in welcoming Alpha Phi to UNC Wilmington.