scroll up button

Share on Social Media

Powered by
HistoryIT | We Give History A Future

Theta Nu

Appalachian State University

Apr 27th, 1991

Founding Date

The Theta Nu chapter of Alpha Phi was established at Appalachian State University, Boone, North Carolina, on April 27, 1991. The chapter joined six other sororities on campus. The charter was presented by International Vice President Alumnae Mary Berkmoes Carroll (Delta Omega-Minnesota State Moorhead). The reception was held in the east wing of Welborn Hall at Appalachian State University. 


Foundation Director Brenda Sanders Savage (Delta Alpha-East Carolina) presented the sapphire scholarship badge to Shannon Littleton, scholarship chair. A $1,000 check was presented to the Watauga County Hospital in honor of the installation. District and Alumnae Coordinator Susan Gist Gilchrist (Delta Alpha-East Carolina) presented the lazy phi badge to chapter president Tammy Miles. This honor badge was a gift of the alumnae chapters of North Carolina.