scroll up button

Share on Social Media

Powered by
HistoryIT | We Give History A Future

Gamma Omicron

Drake University

Mar 1st, 1958

Founding Date

In the fall of 1958, two women, one from the University of Colorado and one from the University of Nebraska, arrived in Des Moines, Iowa, with a purpose in mind. They were transfer students to Drake University, and their purpose…to establish the first Alpha Phi chapter in Iowa at Drake University.


They worked hard, and with the help of Des Moines alumnae and collegiates from the University of Nebraska and Northwestern University, these women, Marietta Alexander (Beta Gamma-Colorado) and Barbra Warner (Nu-Nebraska) welcomed the women who were initiated as charter members of Gamma Omicron chapter on March 1.


The installation ceremonies of Gamma Omicron took place on March 1 and 2. Collegiates from Nu chapter were in charge of the initiation Saturday morning which was followed by a luncheon given by Des Moines alumnae and a model meeting presented by Psi chapter, University of South Dakota.


Elinor Smith Davis (Gamma-DePauw), director of extension, presented the charter to the chapter that evening, and Marietta Alexander Horning, president, Barbara Warner, vice president, and the new initiates placed their signatures on the document.


At the installation banquet Mary Tracy Swanson (Nu-Nebraska), Des Moines alumna and Iowa extension director, announced the banquet theme, “Out of Our Dreams,” and introduced the following speakers: Margaret Whitlock Barton (Beta-Northwestern), international vice president; Betty Bowman Pierce (Nu-Nebraska), Des Moines alumnae president; Marietta Alexander, and Judith Owen Anderson (Gamma Omicron-Drake) representing the new initiates.


Edith Dean Whitlock (Zeta-Goucher) and May Weakley Stanberry (Zeta-Goucher), were among the guests present. Collegiates from the universities of South Dakota (Psi), Missouri (Omicron) and Minnesota (Epsilon) were also present as were Doris R. Corbett (Beta-Northwestern), secretary-treasurer; Ethelle Bowers Lenihan (Psi-South Dakota), district governor, and Madeline Girard (Nu-Nebraska), district alumnae chairman.