scroll up button

Share on Social Media

Powered by
HistoryIT | We Give History A Future

Theta Delta

Creighton University

Apr 21st, 1990

Founding Date

Installation details (if installed prior to 1922, see History Book Volume I): 

On April 21, 1990, Theta Delta chapter was installed at Creighton University in Omaha, Nebraska.


Present for the installation were International Vice-President Extension Ginny Burson Struble (Beta Kappa-Denison), Coordinator of Extension Ruth Gallagher Nelson (Delta Epsilon-Iowa), Chapter Supervisor Beth Owens, Chapter Consultant Kelley Connell Pitre (Epsilon Chi-Cal Poly), District Alumnae Coordinator Susan Powers Alexander (Nu-Nebraska), Omaha Alumnae Chapter president Betty Lurvey Sup (Delta Xi-Nebraska Kearney), Installation Chairman Mary Gruber (Nu-Nebraska), numerous area alumnae and collegiate members from Nu chapter at the University of Nebraska. 


Special gifts included the Lazy Phi badge presented to the chapter president Carolyn Ness by Betty Sup on behalf of the Omaha Alumnae Chapter. The Alpha Phi Foundation presented a check for $1,000 to St. Joseph’s Hospital. A traveling scholarship badge was presented to Angel Wettengel as a reminder of the high scholarship that all Alpha Phis strive to maintain.


After a few years away from campus, the Theta Delta chapter made its return to Creighton’s campus. Alpha Phi participated in the first three days of Creighton’s formal recruitment. Collegians from South Dakota (Psi), Nebraska (Nu) and Drake (Gamma Omicron) and Omaha, Nebraska alumnae represented Alpha Phi at these events. The reestablishment events took place the week of January 30 with great interest and overwhelming support from the Creighton Greek Community. Forty-seven new members joined the reestablishing chapter following Bid Day. The Theta Delta chapter celebrated their installation and initiation on April 21, 2012.