scroll up button

Share on Social Media

Powered by
HistoryIT | We Give History A Future

Eta Sigma

Lafayette College

Apr 23rd, 1989

Founding Date

Alpha Phis across the country wore their silver and bordeaux ribbons on April 23, 1989, in recognition of the installation of Alpha Phi’s 117th collegiate chapter at Lafayette College in Easton, Pennsylvania. 


The establishment process began when the Alpha Phi International Executive Board accepted the petition of Lambda Sigma Sigma, a local interest group. The new member ceremony took place on December 3, 1988, and was conducted by Chapter Consultant Priscilla Barnett Straughn (Zeta Mu-Colorado State).  


Present and participating in the Installation weekend activities were International President Sally McCall Grant (Gamma-DePauw); New Chapter Supervisor and International Vice President Program Development Colette Tyrrell Rankin (Alpha-Syracuse); Field Consultants Priscilla Barnett and Kelly Brown (Beta Upsilon-Oregon State), District Governor Carol Ellis (Epsilon Beta-Butler); District Alumnae Coordinator Joanne Espenschade Engel (Gamma Rho-Penn State), and members of the collegiate chapters at West Chester (Epsilon Kappa) and Seton Hall (Eta Eta). 


Installation weekend activities began with the Court of Ivy ceremony conducted by West Chester (Epsilon Kappa). Following the initiation ceremony, a reception, planned by the Installation Chairman Janet Cassebaum (Theta-Michigan), honored the new initiates. Sally Grant presented the chapter with their charter. Dean Herman Kissiah, representing Lafayette College, welcomed Alpha Phi to the campus. 


Special welcome and gifts included a Lazy Phi badge presented to chapter president Deborah Peterson and a plaque from Seton Hall (Eta Eta). 


The Alpha Phi Foundation presented a $1,000 check to the Valley Health Foundation in Easton. The Foundation also continued its tradition of presenting a sapphire scholarship badge to the scholarship chairman to be worn during her term in office.