scroll up button

Share on Social Media

Powered by
HistoryIT | We Give History A Future

Zeta Kappa

Texas State University

Feb 24th, 1979

Founding Date

In the late spring of 1978, Alpha Phi was established at Southwest Texas State University in San Marcos, Texas. Greek interest was increasing, and Panhellenic decided to invite another sorority to establish. Alpha Phi was the chosen sorority. New officers were elected and advisers appointed in the two remaining weeks of the spring semester. Carolyn Freeny Simpson (Delta Delta-Oklahoma City) was chosen to be Chapter Adviser. The fall semester was full of activities and achievements for the young chapter. Two new members, Vickey Hluchanek Monan (Zeta Kappa-Texas State) and Sandra Hill (Zeta Kappa-Texas State), were chosen to ride in the Cotton Bowl parade on the Alpha Phi float New Year’s Day. Alpha Phi also won a trophy for the best decorated Christmas window in San Marcos. The chapter was also very active and successful in intramural sports. Finally, the chapter began preparing for installation and initiation. During inspiration week, the new members had several “get-togethers” to help everyone get to know more about each other and talk of the problems they had as new members and how to improve the sorority. They learned more new songs and had an exciting scavenger hunt. On February 23, 1979, Court of Ivy was held at St. Mark’s Episcopal Church in San Marcos. Alpha Phis from the University of Texas at Austin, thirty miles away, were invited to perform the ceremony and help with the initiation ceremony. The next morning, sixty-five collegiate and two alumnae were initiated into Zeta Kappa chapter of Alpha Phi. After all the excitement, a model chapter meeting was held to show Zeta Kappa chapter how to properly conduct their meetings. Later that afternoon, a reception was held in the Student Center on the Southwest campus. Many of the womens’ families were able to attend the reception. The signing of the charter followed the reception. Nancy Wittgen Burks DeVoe (Gamma-DePauw), International Vice President Extension, Helena Clark Coulthard (Iota-Wisconsin), Acting Governor, Doris Bales Blakeman (Omicron-Missouri), District Governor, and Kathleen Griffis-Bailey (Gamma Iota-Texas Tech), District Alumnae Chairman, presided over the chartering ceremony. As each new Alpha Phi signed the charter, she was presented with a carnation and a personal note of congratulations from Chapter Adviser Carolyn Simpson, Recruitment Adviser, Denie Buffaloe Lunsmann (Omega-Texas), Scholarship and Standards Adviser Margaret Van Eck Reid (Omega-Texas), and Financial Adviser Judy Spurlock Poole (Gamma Omega-Midwestern State). In the background, Joan Kelly, Field Representative, played the guitar and sang some favorite Alpha Phi songs. The charter was then presented to outgoing president Toni VanZant (Zeta Kappa-Texas State) and newly-elected president Lori White Harmon (Zeta Kappa-Texas State). A banquet planned by a committee led by Sandy Duckworth Allison (Gamma Omega-Midwestern State), was next on the agenda. Toastmistress was Doris Bales Blakeman (Omicron-Missouri). The main address was presented by Nancy Wittgens Burks DeVoe (Gamma-DePauw), who expressed her delight in welcoming this new chapter into Alpha Phi. Kathleen Griffis-Bailey (Gamma Iota-Texas Tech) presented several gifts, including a beautiful silver loving cup, gavel and Bible from Alpha Phi International. The advisers presented the chapter with the President’s Pin, a scholarship plaque, and Best New Member trophy to be passed down every year. Best New Member was Mary Ann Flory (Zeta Kappa-Texas State), newly-elected new member trainer. Lori White was awarded the scholarship plaque for the highest GPA during the fall semester. The banquet festivities were adjourned with the Loving Cup Ceremony led by Helena Clark Coulthard (Iota-Wisconsin).