scroll up button

Share on Social Media

Powered by
HistoryIT | We Give History A Future

Zeta Zeta

Murray State University

Apr 1st, 1978

Founding Date

In October 1977, Murray State students began seeing signs and notices announcing “Alpha Phi is Coming.” Many women anxiously watched for its appearance and enthusiastically attended the parties. Delta Chi chapter from William Woods College in Fulton, Missouri, presided over these functions until the establishment of the group on October 23. On that day, fifty-nine new members began their six-months’ journey to becoming Zeta Zeta chapter of Alpha Phi International.


Epsilon Omicron chapter from Austin Peay State University in Clarksville, Tennessee, visited Murray to conduct the Court of Ivy Ceremony, the initiation and the model meeting.


The April 1 installation was followed by a reception given to introduce university administrators, faculty, Greek organizations and the initiates’ parents to Alpha Phi. National officers present at the reception and the chartering ceremony were: Director of Extension Nancy Wittgen Burks DeVoe (Gamma-DePauw); Director of Chapters South Louise Strange McNeil (Beta Mu-Alabama), and District Governor Sue Zimmerman Terrell. Special adviser Kathy Watson (Iota-Wisconsin), and Field Representative Deborah Keller (Gamma Rho-Penn State) were also present. 


A banquet honoring the new chapter followed the reception and featured expressions of welcome from Dr. William G. Read, Vice President of Academic Programs at Murray State University; Louise McNeil, Kathy Watson and Joi Lyons, president of Epsilon Omicron chapter.


Barbara Kemper, president of Zeta Zeta chapter, accepted the welcomes with warm thanks on behalf of the entire chapter.


The main address was given by Phyllis Sims Selig (Gamma Delta-Kansas), International President. The evening ended with the traditional Alpha Phi Loving Cup Ceremony.