scroll up button

Share on Social Media

Powered by
HistoryIT | We Give History A Future

Iota Theta

Wilfrid Laurier University

Mar 3rd, 2002

Founding Date

Alpha Phi International Fraternity presented a charter to establish its 144th active chapter at Wilfrid Laurier University, Waterloo, Ontario, Canada, March 2-3, 2002. The weekend celebrated the initiation of 32 charter members and four alumnae following more than a year of hard work establishing the chapter on campus. 


The Court of Ivy ceremony was conducted on the evening of March 2 in the Green Room at the Dr. Alvin Woods Building, Wilfrid Laurier University.


International Executive Board Director Judy Segerer Watson (Beta Omicron-Bowling Green) and Monica Kennedy Monczka (Xi-Toronto), Team Lead Ashley Haugh (Xi-Toronto), Regional Team Members Jan Brinker Schaeffer (Beta Omicron-Bowling Green), Candi Mitchell Robinson (Omega-Texas) and Joanne Alexopoulos (Xi-Toronto), staff member Alison Tibbits (Iota Delta-Rhode Island), former staff member Megan Ford (Eta Lambda-George Mason), Educational Leadership Consultant Brooke Cesare (Epsilon Chi-Cal Poly), former Educational Leadership Consultant Holly Coil (Delta Gamma-Northern Colorado), Team Laurier members and local volunteers Sera Park Pisani (Xi-Toronto), Judy Jakusz (Delta Sigma-Wisconsin Stevens Point), Rachel Uytenbogaart (Theta Omicron-McMaster), Alison Nash (Xi-Toronto), Reena Dar (Theta Eta-Western University) and Toronto Alumnae Chapter President Christina Seres (Xi-Toronto) conducted Court of Ivy and initiation. 


Collegiate chapters Xi (Toronto), Eta Chi (Bishop’s) and Theta Eta (Western University) provided a warm welcome to Alpha Phi’s newest Canadian members. Iota Theta was Alpha Phi’s seventh chapter in Canada.


A reception was held for initiates and their families at the Paul Martin Centre. Ashley Haugh served as toastmistress of ceremonies, and Dean of Greek Life Dr. Fred Binding welcomed the new chapter on behalf of the university. Upper Midwest Region Foundation Liaison Candi Robinson (Omega-Texas) presented a scholarship pin to the new chapter.


The highlight of the installation was the presentation of the Iota Theta charter by International Executive Board Directors Monica Monczka and Judy Watson to Chapter President Taryn Dowsling. She also accepted a president’s pin.


Additional gifts were presented by Xi and Theta Eta collegiate chapters, Toronto alumnae chapter, and Upper Midwest regional team, Team Laurier and other volunteers who support the new chapter.