scroll up button

Share on Social Media

Powered by
HistoryIT | We Give History A Future

Eta Epsilon

Villanova University

Apr 25th, 1987

Founding Date

Eta Epsilon chapter was installed at Villanova University in Villanova, Pennsylvania, on Saturday, April 25, 1987. Alpha Phi was the first on Villanova’s campus to establish instead of accepting a petition from a local group.


The establishment team was led by Ginny Burson Struble (Beta Kappa-Dension), International Vice-President Extension, and consisted of Field Representatives Kristi Hanson (Beta Zeta-Idaho), Karen Ohnemus Lisko (Beta Epsilon-Arizona), Renee Roux Burns (Beta Delta-UCLA) and Lori Vanderleest Wenzel (Zeta Delta-Iowa State). Alpha Phi established in early February in grand style, pinning 91 collegians and one alumna with the silver ivy leaf. Three area collegiate chapters helped during the establishment week: Delta Zeta (Maryland), Epsilon Psi (Lehigh), and Epsilon Kappa (West Chester). 


The enthusiasm and dedication of the new members toward Alpha Phi were reinforced by the support shown to them by the International Fraternity; represented by volunteers from across the country who were present to assist in the ceremonies of installation weekend. International President Sally McCall Grant (Gamma-DePauw); International Vice-President Alumnae Mary Berkmoes Carroll (Delta Omega-Minnesota State Moorhead); National Panhellenic Delegate Betty Mullins Jones (Gamma-DePauw); Ceremonies and Ritual Chairman Phyllis Sims Selig (Gamma Delta-Kansas); Chairman of the Alpha Phi Foundation Marthan Watkins Mast (Beta Nu-Duke), and new chapter supervisor Sally Martin Richter (Beta Kappa-Denison)  and Field Representative Kristi Hanson were all present to lend support and guidance.


Installation weekend began with the Court of Ivy Ceremony on Friday evening conducted by collegiate members of Epsilon Nu (Delaware) chapter. On Saturday, both the initiation ceremony in the morning and the reception in the afternoon for family and friends took place at the historic Baldwin School for girls. This grand old building of the 19th century was originally the Bryn Mawr Hotel, designed by Frank Furness. The initiation ceremony was conducted by Phyllis Sims Selig. Eighty-two collegians and six alumnae were initiated.